Twinsies. Uh Oh. What am I becoming?

10 May

I am still committed to becoming more proficient with knits. I read a pep talk from Rachael this week that reminded me that being good at something typically takes a lot of practice. When I think back to my sewing experience, I cringe a bit about some of the things I’ve made, but in the last couple of years, I’ve really upped my game….at least with wovens. I’m trying to remind myself of this and stay committed to working on knits, even if some of my creations don’t live up to my standards, because I do think it will be rewarding in many ways. And with that….

IMG_0009When Kristin released her free Scoop Top pattern, I thought I should give it a go. I don’t actually have a lot of great knits in my stash, but I did have a remnant of the coral fabric from the Sunki leggings I made a couple of weeks ago. I only had enough of that to cut out one side of the shirt, so I decided to pair it with a tissue knit in black and white stripes, thinking I’d recreate a trend akin to something from Madewell. (Note: in searching for an example of this perceived trend, I found nothing of the sort, so I either can’t remember where I’ve seen this, it was a trend a few seasons back, or it never was a trend. I’d believe any of these scenarios!)

As I was putting together the top, I was super excited about how it was looking. I love the fabrics together, the striped neckline turned out pretty well, and I had no problems with the pocket. The hem is a different story. I used my walking foot and a double needle (though mine is universal and not ball point). I first tried to use The Sewing Rabbit‘s trick that Kristin references, using tissue paper to stabalize the fabric, but that didn’t work for me. I waited a day so I could run out to the store to get stay tape, and that might have been a little helpful, but I still had problems with my bobbin thread – resulting in the image below (wrong side of fabric). (After consulting with my mom, who has the same machine, perhaps this would be solved by doing a thorough cleaning, oiling and lubricating of my machine. That’s next on my list).IMG_9985

The striped fabric was especially challenging, I think because it’s so thin. I finally made it around the bottom hem and both arms, and I’m pleased with the end result. I definitely have much to learn, but I do think this shirt is very wearable.

IMG_9995 IMG_0005

As I was making my shirt, my daughter asked if it was for her, and was pretty disappointed to hear that it was for me. Six months ago, my kid never acted like she cared if I made her anything, and she certainly didn’t make it easy to take pictures of her in any handmade clothes, so I was easily swayed by her charm. I made the mistake of suggesting that I had enough fabric to make her one, and she didn’t let me forget it.

So, I used the sleeveless Skater Dress as a template for drafting a simple toddler sized tank. I had the confidence to do this after my experience with the Sweet Tartan dress. Yay! I didn’t actually have a big enough piece of my coral knit to do the front in that fabric alone, so I switched up the look and did the striped fabric on the top and the coral fabric on the bottom. This also would have prevented me from having to hem that lightweight fabric, but it turned out I miscalculated the wonderful toddler belly my kid still has, and it was just a little short for my liking. I added a ribbing in solid black to the bottom to give her another inch and a half of coverage.

IMG_0016 IMG_0015 IMG_0013 IMG_0018

I can’t imagine we’ll ever wear these together except for this sweet selfie demanded by the kid.

IMG_0020

Who am I kidding?

She has me wrapped around her finger.

8 Responses to “Twinsies. Uh Oh. What am I becoming?”

  1. alibobs May 11, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Love your matching tops! Congrats on winning my giveaway, let me know where to send it!

  2. Kitschy Coo May 12, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    That is really sweet! Love your top so much, the stripes in the back and pocket are perfection.

    • jillamsberry May 13, 2013 at 1:42 am #

      Thanks! I love the Skater Dress pattern and will be using it a lot!

  3. Adrienne May 19, 2013 at 2:29 am #

    This is really cute! I was planning on trying something similar, after I spotted a top like this at anthropologie. Theirs has a back yoke, but I think I like yours better as a complete back piece. Very nice!

    • jillamsberry May 19, 2013 at 3:49 am #

      Thank you. I knew there was somewhere I’d seen something similar! Can’t wait to see another version!

  4. kristin May 31, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    JILL!!!! YOU STARTED A BLOG!!! Here I am just clicking through Rae’s top roundup and I find this out! Awesome. I love your top, the stripe back (and pocket) is genius. And you made a sweet tartan too! It’s adorable!! I see now you put them in my flickr group but I’ve been too busy in May to even check it. Anyway, you rock. Thank you for your support – just using my patterns and tutorials means a lot to me! 😀

    • jillamsberry May 31, 2013 at 6:27 am #

      I did! I was inspired to start logging my creations for Kids Clothing Week. I think my mom enjoys my blurry and often poorly lit photos of her granddaughter. 🙂 Ugh. You will probably see more Skirt as Top inspiration here regularly.

  5. girllikethesea June 1, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    really cute! I like the fabrics together. Recently I made my first ever tee shirt and had a hell of a time with my hems. For some reason everything was going crazy, when I’ve usually been able to make things work well with my kids clothes. The twin needle was definitely not a success. Great job on the tee!

Leave a Reply

